top of page
  • Tamara

MARK JENKINS

Updated: Feb 20, 2019

Mark Jenkins is one of the most famous American urban artists widely known for his macabre and shocking street installations. Jenkins uses the streets as his personal stage to express socio-economic issues and make people question what is real and what is not. He transforms the streets into the frontier of his messages. With the government, advertisers and artists all mixing and cross-pollinating in this battlefield, it is important to add to the social commentary.


Mark Jenkins is the main inspiration for my sculpture art as he making human figures that speak on the the social urban environment. I find Mark Jenkins’ work really interesting and different. It makes me think about how I would react if I were to walk past it. Would I think it is a real person? Would I go up to the sculpture? Would I just stare and walk past? I think it definitely would me take me out of my social media bubble, being on my phone whilst I am walking, and make me look and think. I think art does not need to necessarily have a strong, clear message, it just needs to make you think outside of your usual thoughts.


Personally, I think Mark Jenkin’s work talks on social issues that people don’t necessarily want to physically say. Gun violence, male suicide, consumerism and homelessness are all sensitive topics that people normally have strong opinions on. By using his sculptures as a talking point, Mark Jenkins can make others speak on topics without him actually saying anything. His work is rather a probe for awareness rather than a statement.


References: Karaicic,N. (2014) Biography of Mark Jenkins. July 9. Wide Walls. [Online] [Accessed 13th January 2019] https://www.widewalls.ch/artist/mark-jenkins/

2 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page