top of page
  • Tamara

DRESS LESS HOMELESS BEGINS...


Dress Less Homeless is an organisation founded myself, Tamara Bogle. As a fashion student, I am constantly bombarded with imagery surrounding the latest trends. However, there are trends in current society that are now a fundamental part of fashion: layering, sportswear and causal wear. All of these ways of dressing ironically are the way the homeless have been dressing for years. This was never a style based choice for them, but rather because it was the only option. This appropriation of the homeless is unfair as these fashion houses who are inspired by the vulnerable rarely ever seem to give back. Through my blog posts I will be sharing my research into this topic to spread awareness about the appropriation of the homeless and working class. I hope that I can make you think more about the topic.


I will also be documenting my sculpture creation as I am going to be doing a social experiment to unearth how homeless appropriation is so evident that we don't even recognise the different between a homeless person and a student. So please do keep up to date with this blog and follow our journey at Dress Less Homeless.


Reference: Mower, S. (2007) Fall 2017 Menswear Vetements. 24th January. Vogue. [Online] [Accessed 13th January 2019] https://www.vogue.com/fashion-shows/fall-2017-menswear/vetements

4 views0 comments

Opmerkingen


bottom of page